Thursday, 31 of July of 2014

Introduction

I was born and raised in one of the most beautiful places in the world – Sonoma County in Northern California, home of coastal redwoods, the Pacific Coast, and sprawling vineyards.  I am a first-generation Chinese-American, and the oldest of two daughters, as well as the oldest cousin of a very large family.  I  grew up in a tough-love family that taught me to always strive to be better, and to be grateful for the life that I have been blessed with.  My dad grew up in Guangzhou, China, and has still not fully acclimated to living in the U.S.  All of the rest of his family still lives in China.  My mom was raised in Saigon, Vietnam, and is a loving and wonderful (albeit crazy at times) woman.  My sister is bright and feisty, and though we share many of the same mannerisms, she is the opposite of me in many ways.  My mom has eight brothers and sisters, seven of whom also live in the same city; I love being the oldest cousin, and would not trade my big family for anything in the world.  My grandpa will always be my greatest hero.  He passed away in 2006, and not a day goes by where I don’t miss him.  Although I am only 25-years-young, I have been in a committed relationship for over eight years; my boyfriend is my best friend (and also my high school sweetheart).

I am an idealist, and there are few things in this world make me happier than random acts of kindness.  I love the great outdoors, camping, traveling, running, food, music, and laughter.  As cliche as it sounds, my goal in life is to make the world a better place.  I hope to use to my education in public health and nutrition to bring wellness and health, and therefore, an improved life to people.

The purpose of this ePortfolio is for me to showcase my efforts as I learn more about qualitative research methods, and to bring my unique perspective and experiences to the table as I do so.


Leave a comment