Physics Undergraduate Awards:

The N. Hobbs Knight Prize Scholarship in Physics

Established in 1957 by Mrs. Esther F. Martin in honor of her father, the late Nathaniel Hobbs Knight, a member of the faculty in the Department of Physics from 1911 to 1953. The scholarship provides annual awards to be presented to two juniors or seniors who are majoring in physics and who have demonstrated outstanding ability in theoretical and experimental physics.

2014 award recipients: Matthew Wiens, ’14, & Kate Voorhes, 14

The Amos Emerson Dolbear Scholarships

Established in 1947 by the bequest of Katherine E. Dolbear (class of 1897) in memory of her father, the eminent scientist and inventor, who was professor of physics at Tufts from 1874 to 1910. The Dolbear scholarships are awarded to two seniors who have shown promise in the field of either physics or electrical engineering.

2014 award recipient: Samuel “Benji” Hansen, ’14


The Howard Sample Prize Scholarship in Physics

Professor Howard Sample, a professor in the Department of Physics at Tufts University, was known for his love of physics and for his generosity in assisting colleagues, graduate and undergraduate students, and for his kindness to all. The award is given annually to undergraduate students for outstanding performance in Physics 11 and Physics 12.

The Steven J. Eliopoulos and Joyce J. Eliopoulos Endowed Fund for Undergraduate Research in Physics and Astronomy 

Established in 2012 by Steven J. (A’89) and Joyce J. Eliopoulos to support a Summer Scholar in the department of physics and astronomy to encourage more students to become involved in research projects and do senior theses.  The Eliopoulos summer scholarships are awarded to undergraduate students who have shown promise in the field of physics.

 2014 award recipients: Lesya Horyn, ’15


Tufts Undergraduate Awards:

The Benjamin G. Brown Scholarship

Established in 1947 by the bequest of Robert C. Brown (class of 1888) in honor of his father, Benjamin G. Brown, onetime Walker Professor of Mathematics at Tufts. These scholarships are awarded to seniors who have shown promise in scientific research in fields other than chemistry.

2014 award recipient: Noah Kurinsky, ’14


The Class of 1942 Prize Scholarship

Founded in 1985 by Elaine and Grant Curtis in honor of the women and men of the class who served their country. Awarded annually to seniors considered by other undergraduates, faculty, or staff as the most likely to become outstanding teachers, counselors, or administrators.

2014 award recipient: Ellen Garven, ’14

The Audrey Butvay Gruss Science Award

Established in 1992, awarded annually, with preference to a female student, who has demonstrated outstanding academic work in any of the sciences and who is a scholarship recipient.

2014 award recipient: Isabel Yannatos

The Prize Scholarship of the Class of 1882

Founded by Dr. Arthur Winslow Pierce, honors an undergraduate student with great potential for intellectual leadership and creativity.

2014 award recipient: George Wojcik

Tufts Summer Scholars

The Tufts Summer Scholars Program, initiated in 2003 and funded by the Provost’s Office and by a gift from the Board of Trustees in honor of former Chair Nathan Gantcher, provides support to selected undergraduates to pursue research with a Tufts faculty member.

Physics Recipients (Advisor in parentheses):

2013 award recipient: Matthew Wiens (Staii), Samuel “Benji” Hansen (Beauchemin) and Kate Voorhes (Atherton)
2012 award recipient: Noah Kurinsky (Gallagher) and Ross Beighley (Staii)
2011 award recipient: Christopher Kehayias (Staii) and Natalie Perry (Marchesini)
2010 award recipient: Wojeciech Musial (Oliver)
2009 award recipient: Michael Hancock (Tobin)
2009 award recipient: Lauren Wielgus (Gallagher)
2008 award recipient: Keith Hofmann (Gallagher)
2007 award recipient: Krish Kotru (Tobin)
2005 award recipient: Andrew Hall (Olum)
2004 award recipient: Russell Sargent (Tobin)
2003 award recipients: Sasha Brodsky (Tobin) and Laurel Powers (Cebe)


Additional Awards of Note:

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation

Noah A. Kurinsky (’14) was awarded a 2013-14 scholarship from the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation. Designed to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences, and engineering, the Goldwater Scholarship is the premier undergraduate award of its type in these fields.