How do I share content in My Workspace with others?

By default, any content you add to your My Workspace site is private. Should you wish to share content from your My Workspace site with someone on another site, you can. To do this, we suggest that you create a new folder titled public, click Edit Details for the folder and set the access options to publicly viewable. For content that’s previously been added, click Edit details next to the file. At the bottom of the Edit Details screen you should see a field titled Web Address (url) listed. This is the public url for the document. To share it with others outside My Workspace, simply cut and paste this url into another site, or send it to someone via email and they should be able to access the document. Note, you can also copy content over from your My Workspace to any of your course or project sites. Keep in mind that no one else will be able to directly access materials on your My Workspace unless you share it using one of these methods.

Screen shot showing step 1 of making My Workspace files public.

Fig 1. Screen shot showing step 1 of making My Workspace files public.

Screen shot of steps 2-4 for making My Workspace files public.

Fig. 2 Screen shot of steps 2-4 for making My Workspace files public (click to enlarge).



Comments are closed.