Project Team

Trunk, Tufts’ new collaboration and learning environment, is being implemented university-wide in a three phased approach that will take place over a multi-year period. A Trunk Implementation Core Team is responsible for coordinating all phases of the project. Under the leadership of Project Steward, Gina Siesing, Director of UIT’s Educational and Scholarly Technology Services,  the work of the team is guided by the Next-Generation Tufts LMS Strategy Recommendations, developed and unanimously endorsed in spring 2010 as the final deliverable of a year-long university-wide strategic planning process.

The Trunk Implementation Core Team works with two advisory committees, the Trunk Executive Committee and the Trunk Implementation Steering Committee. The charge of each of these committees and their membership is listed below:

Trunk Executive Committee

The Trunk Executive Steering Committee, including these Tufts University senior academic and administrative leaders, provides oversight to ensure that the project maintains an appropriate university focus and to support the project’s successful completion through sponsorship and guidance:

  • Patricia Campbell, Executive Vice President, Tufts University
  • David Kahle, VP for Information Technology and CIO, University Information Technology
  • Mary Y. Lee, Associate Provost, Tufts University

Trunk Implementation Steering Committee

The Trunk Implementation Steering Committee provides input and guidance to the project manager and the Trunk Implementation Core Team in support of the project’s successful process and completion. This Committee has the following members:

  • Marybeth Caputo, Budget & Fiscal Officer, UIT
  • Patrick Connell, Manager of Educational Technology, Office of Academic Initiatives, Friedman School of Nutrition Science & Policy
  • Mark Damian, Director of Enterprise Applications, UIT
  • Scott Epstein, Dean for Educational Affairs, Tufts School of Medicine
  • James Glaser, Academic Dean, School of Arts & Sciences
  • Nadeem Karimbux, Associate Dean, Academic Affairs, TUSDM (effective October 1, 2012).
  • Aviva Must, Professor & Chair, Public Health & Community Medicine, TUSM
  • Theresa Regan, Director of Enterprise Infrastructure, UIT
  • Leah Rosovsky, Executive Associate Dean, School of Arts & Sciences
  • Cynthia Rubino, Assistant Director of Information Technology, The Fletcher School
  • Scott Sahagian, Executive Associate Dean, School of Engineering (Tony Sulprizio, Director, IT Services, attending)
  • Gina Siesing, Director, UIT Educational & Scholarly Technology Services, Project Steward
  • Annie Soisson, Associate Director, CELT
  • Dawn Terkla, Associate Provost, Institutional Research & Evaluation
  • Angie Warner, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine
  • Wyatt Cadley, President, TCU Senate
  • Clint Perry, GSC Representative

Trunk Implementation Core Team

The Trunk Implementation Core Team is responsible for coordinating all phases of implementation project work and for enlisting the input of the Trunk Implementation Steering Committee and stakeholders across the university at key project junctures.

The Trunk Core Team is comprised of the following members:

  • Andrew Valenti, Project Manager, LMS Implementation, UIT, ex-officio
  • Janet Hill, Manager of LMS Services
  • Sheryl Barnes, Assistant Director Client Services, Educational and Scholarly Technology Services, UIT
  • David Grogan, Manager, Curricular Technology Group, UIT
  • Neal Hirsig, Assistant Director for Instructional Services and Blackboard Administrator, ITS, Schools of Arts & Sciences and Engineering
  • Zora Rizzi, Senior Client Support & Multimedia/LMS Specialist
  • Rebecca Sholes, Senior Faculty Development Consultant, UIT
  • Melanie St. James, Manager, Design and Usability Services
  • Chris Strauber, Associate Librarian, Tisch Library, School of Arts & Sciences and Engineering

Trunk Implementation Working Groups

The following working groups have been created to complete specific project objectives related to the design and implementation of Trunk. Working group members are drawn from recommendations made by the Tufts IT Leaders Forum, the LMS Implementation Steering Committee, and others with known expertise across Tufts University.

Architecture Infrastructure Design & Implementation
Team Lead: Andy Valenti
Charge: To design and implement the Trunk infrastructure at the university.

Team Lead: Rebecca Sholes,
Charge: To effectively communicate with all members of the Tufts community to ensure that they are aware of the project and that their transition to Trunk is a smooth one.

Coordinated Support & Service Model
Team Lead: Janet Hill,
Charge: To design and implement a robust, coordinated University LMS service and support model.

Data Migration
Team Lead: David Grogan,
Charge: To develop a process by which course content can be moved from Blackboard to Trunk for faculty in the School of Arts and Sciences, the School of Engineering, and The Fletcher School.

Platform Configuration Group
Team Lead: Janet Hill,

Training and Documentation
Team Lead: Sheryl Barnes,
Charge: To plan, develop, and deliver outcomes-based orientations, trainings, and documentation to faculty, teaching assistants, staff and students to facilitate their transition from Blackboard to Trunk.

SIS and Authorization Integration
Team Lead: Janet Hill,

Technical & Functional Evaluation and Extensions
Team Lead:  David Grogan,
Charge: To understand technical questions that are significant for the Core Team’s evaluation of customizing and extending the functionality of Sakai, to report findings to the Core Team, and to discuss how these technical findings might influence strategic recommendations for Trunk.

Team Lead: Melanie St. James,