this is a header image

When: October 4, 2011, 9:00 am-1:30 pm

Where: Tufts University, Gordon Institute, Suite 2400, 200 Boston Avenue, Medford MA 02155

Faculty, Students and Staff are Invited to Join Dean Linda M. Abriola & Associate Dean Eric L. Miller for the Wittich Energy Sustainability Research Symposium

A light breakfast and lunch will be served

To register, please email

For more information, please visit


9:00 – 9:20                  Opening Remarks, Dean Linda Abriola

9:20 – 9:30                  Peter Wittich

9:30 – 9:50                  Optimized Thermoelectric Module-Heat Sink Assemblies for Precision Temperature Control, Prof. Marc Hodes

9:50 – 10:10                Using the DOE Methodology to Determine Optimal Annealing Profiles for Organic BHJ Photovoltaics, Prof. Matthew Panzer

10:10 – 10:30              Wet Chemistry Based Low Cost Nanowire Photovoltaic Cells,Prof. Sameer Sonkusale and Prof. Thomas Vandervelde

10:30 – 10:50 Break

10:50 – 11:10              Pathway Engineering in Escherichia coli for Lipid Synthesis and Accumulation, Julie Paul, Joanna Rucker, Prof. Blaine Pfeifer and Prof. Kyongbum Lee

11:10 – 11:30              Atmospheric Materials Processing Enabled by Microplasma Arrays, Prof. Jeff Hopwood, Alan Hoskinson, Chen Wu, Naoto Miura, Michael Grunde and Mical Nobel

11:30 – 11:50              Reinventing the Wheel:  A Look Inside the THR 12, Chris Jackson, Will Salisbury, Simon Metcalf, Alex Chan, and Nathan Goldsberry

11:50 – 12:00              Closing Remarks, Eric Miller

12:00 – 1:30                Poster Session and Lunch