Videos

Links to recorded events are below:

Spring 2021 Events

Friday, April 23 | 10:00am | Zoom
H. Adlai Murdoch (Tufts University);
Alessandra Benedicty-Kokken (Research Center for Material Culture)
Vincent Joos (Florida State University)
Jacqueline Lazu (DePaul University)
Hanétha Vété-Congolo (Bowdoin College)
The Struggle of Non-Sovereign Caribbean Territories: Neoliberalism Since the French Antillean Uprisings of 2009

Thursday, April 22 | 1:30pm | Zoom
Daanika Gordon (Assistant Professor of Sociology);
Lilian Mengesha (Fletcher Foundation Assistant Professor of Dramatic Literature in the Department of Theatre, Dance, and Performance Studies, and the Department of Studies in Race, Colonialism and Diaspora);
and their research assistants, Jenny Henderson and Paula Gil-Ordoñez Gomez
“Building Transformative Justice at Tufts”

Friday, April 16 | 12:00pm | Zoom
Elias Khoury (Novelist and public intellectual) 
“The Culture of Challenge: Arabic Culture in the Face of Oppression and Decadence”

Tuesday, April 13 | 12:00pm | Zoom
Gayathri Goel (CHAT Dissertation Fellow; PhD Candidate in English) 
“Place-Based Knowledge: Epistemology and Politics of Place in Amitav Ghosh’s The Hungry Tide”

Thursday, April 8 | 12:00pm | Zoom
Nick Seaver (CHAT Faculty Fellow; Assistant Professor of Anthropology) 
“Homo Attentus: Technological Backlash and the Rise of Humanism”

Thursday, March 18 | 12:00pm | Zoom
Peter Spearman (CHAT Dissertation Fellow; PhD Candidate in Theatre, Dance, and Performance Studies) 
“In Your Reality”: Cute Girls, Violence, and Your Computer in Doki Doki Literature Club

Tuesday, March 9 | 12:00pm | Zoom
Ichiro Takayoshi (CHAT Faculty Fellow; Associate Professor of English) 
“Art Addiction”

Friday, February 26 | 1:30pm | Zoom
Alisha Rankin (Associate Professor of History) 
“The Poison Trials: Wonder Drugs, Experiment, and the Battle for Authority in Renaissance Science”

Tuesday, February 23 | 12:00pm | Zoom
Hesam Sharifian (PhD Candidate in Theatre, Dance, and Performance Studies) 
“The Stratford Edition: The Old ‘Young America’ and an Anachronistic Democratic Shakespeare”

Wednesday, February 17 | 12:00pm | Zoom
Neelum Sohail (CHAT Dissertation Fellow; PhD Candidate in History) 
“Making Lists and Checking Them Twice: Policing and Governance in 19th century Colonial India”

Fall 2020 Events

Friday, November 20 | 1:30pm | Zoom
Mona El Khoury (Tufts University) 
“Remnants of the Franco-Algerian Rupture: Archiving Postcolonial Minorities” 

Friday, November 13 | 1:30pm | Zoom
Lilian Mengesha (Tufts University) 
“Material Remains, Settler-Colonial Hauntings: Comparative Indigenous Aesthetics in Performance” 

Friday, October 23 | 1:30pm | Zoom
Kareem Khubchandani (Tufts University) 
“Ishtyle: Accenting Gay Indian Nightlife” 

Friday, October 2 | 1:30pm | Zoom
Jess Keiser (Tufts University) 
“Nervous Fictions: Literary Form and the Enlightenment Origins of Neuroscience” 

Wednesday, September 30 | 1:00pm | Zoom
Pawan Dhingra (Amherst College) 
“Hyper Education: Why Good Schools, Good Grades, and Good Behavior Are Not Enough” 

Friday, September 25 | 1:30pm | Zoom
Christina Maranci (Tufts University) 
“An Eternal Monument: Studying the Cathedral of Ani” 

Tuesday, September 22 | 12:00pm | Zoom
James (JT) Thomas (University of Mississippi) 
“The Souls of Jews? Du Bois, Double Consciousness, and the Jewish Question”