Honorable Chair

James Stavridis FG84
James Stavridis is Dean Emeritus of The Fletcher School, serving as its 12th leader from 2013 until 2018.  A retired Admiral in the U.S. Navy, he led the NATO Alliance in global operations from 2009 to 2013 as Supreme Allied Commander.  He also served as Commander of U.S. Southern Command, with responsibility for all military operations in Latin America from 2006-2009.

A Fletcher PhD, he won the Gullion prize as outstanding student and has published six books and over 150 articles.  His focus is on innovation, strategic communication and planning, and creating security through international, interagency, and public/private partnerships in this turbulent 21st century.

Faculty Chairs

John Burgess
Professor of Practice,
Executive Director,
LLM Program

Bhaskar Chakravorti
Dean of Global Business,
Executive Director,
Institute for Business in
the Global Context (IBGC)

Barbara Kates-Garnick FG84
Professor of Practice,
Senior Research Fellow,
Center for International
Environment and
Resources Policy (CIERP)

Patrick Schena
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Co-Head, SovereigNet

Rockford Weitz F'03, FG08
Professor of Practice
Director, Fletcher Maritime
Studies Program

Confirmed Speakers

Lina Azuero

Laura Beane
President & CEO,
Avangrid Renewables

Roger Berkowitz
President & CEO,
Legal Sea Foods

Peter Chiang
Hanaqua Tech

Philip Duffy
President &
Executive Director,
Woods Hole
Research Center

Boriana Farrar
Shipowners Claims Bureau, Inc.

William Shepherd
Former Astronaut &
US Navy Seal

Michael Goltzman F97
Vice President,
Global Public Policy,
The Coca-Cola

Paul Greenberg
"Four Fish" &
"American Catch"

Eric Hines
Professor of Practice,
Civil & Environmental Engineering,
Tufts University

Douglas Hsu
Director General,
Taipei Economic & Cultural
Office, Boston

Jason Huffman
Senior Reporter,
Undercurrent News

Ed Krapels
Founder & CEO,

Jen-Chyuan Lee
Professor, Institute of
Marine Affairs & Resources,
National Taiwan
Ocean University

Matthew Merighi F'16
Assistant Director,
Fletcher Maritime
Studies Program

Stamatis Molaris
Founder & Principal,
Empire Group of Companies

Marianne Naess
Director of Operations,
North America,
Nordic Aquafarms

Ravijit Paintal
Founder & CEO,
Autonomous Marine

Lára Hrönn

Co-Founder, Pacific
Northwest Ocean Cluster

Vik Saran
Director of Materials, Asia,
New Balance