The Andreas A. David Foundation established a scholarship at The Fletcher School in 2003 with the goal of upgrading the human capital of the Greek Foreign Service so that it can better meet the challenges of the 21st century. The scholarship is offered to a mid-career-level diplomat from the Greek Ministry of Foreign Affairs for a one-year fellowship to obtain the Master of Arts (M.A.) degree.

In 2011, the David Foundation expanded the scholarship to provide fellowship opportunities for representatives from two additional Greek ministries. In addition to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the David Foundation supports one representative from the Ministry of Defense and one representative from the Ministry of Public Order and Citizen Protection. The generosity of the Andreas A. David Foundation will be echoed across the years as the promising recipients of the Foundation’s scholarship return to Greece to help implement new ways of thinking in their respective ministries. Since 2003, the scholarship has been awarded to 32 scholars.

The Andreas A. David Scholarship recipients:

2003 – 2004    Ionna Efthymiadou, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

2004 – 2005    Angelos Ypsilanti, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

2005 – 2006    No award offered

2006 – 2007    Dmitri Goudkov and Sujata Tuladhar

2007 – 2008    Nicolas Sigalas, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

2008 – 2009    Athina Makri, Ministry of Foreign Affair

2009 – 2010    Alexios Mitsopoulos, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

2010 – 2011    Gina Andreadi, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

2011 – 2012    Alexandros Ioannidis, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Christos Eleftheriou, Ministry of Public Order and Citizen Protection; and Vasileios Loukovitis, Ministry of Defense

2012 – 2013    Vassilis Katakalidis, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Alexandros Kazanis, Ministry of Public Order and Citizen Protection; and Evangelia Konstantara, Ministry of Defense

2013 – 2014    Stergios Bakaloudis, Ministry of Public Order and Citizen Protection; Nikolaos Gkonkis, and Symeon Tegos, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

2014 – 2015    Emmanouil Apostolakis, Stylianos Chatzadakis, and Ionnis Zormpas

2015 – 2016    Antonios Papakostas; Efthymios Margaritis, Ministry of Defense; and Vasiliki Sergianni, Ministry of Public Order and Citizen Protection

2016 – 2017    Michael Karabalis, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Deimitrios Karapatrakis, Ministry of Public Order and Citizen Protection; and Ioannis Nellas, Ministry of Defense

2017 – 2018    Charalampos Menychtas, Ministry of Defense; Nikolaos Protonotarios, Ministry of Public Order and Citizen Protection; and Sokratis Sourvinos, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

2018 – 2019    Evangelos Besas, Ministry of Public Order and Citizen Protection; and Fragkiskos Gryllakis, Ministry of Defense

2019 – 2020    Konstantina Gota, Ministry of Defense; Eleni Petroula, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; and Michail Stamatis, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

2020 – 2021    Efstratios Efthymiou, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; and Nikolaos Stratikis, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

2021 – 2022    Ioannis Charlas, Ministry of Defense; Dimitrios Georgiou, Ministry of Defense; and Aikaterini Tzima, Ministry of Foreign Affair

2022-2023    Evaghelia Kamariotou, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Ioannis Ntanos, Ministry of Defense

2023-2024    George Drakopoulos, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Aristeidis Bouras, Ministry of Citizen Protection; Ioannis Angelos Laganis, Ministry of Defense


The National Bank of Greece established a term scholarship at The Fletcher School in 2008. Preference for the scholarship is given to students from Greece who have an interest in a Master of Arts in Law and Diplomacy (MALD) and Master in International Business (MIB) degree. The National Bank of Greece also provides programmatic support for the Constantine G. Karamanlis Chair in Hellenic and European Studies at The Fletcher School.

We are grateful for the generosity of the National Bank of Greece, as the scholarship provides its recipients vast opportunities to return to Greece to implement new ways of thinking, and the programmatic support provided allows for the Karamanlis Chair to organize such events as the successful international meeting in celebration of the 10th Anniversary of the Karamanlis Chair at The Fletcher School. Since 2008, the scholarship has been awarded to three scholars.