Senior Associate Editor

Diane Jones Allen is currently the Program Director for Landscape Architecture, College of Architecture, Planning, and Public Affairs, at the University of Texas at Arlington. She is also Principal Landscape Architect with DesignJones LLC in New Orleans, Louisiana which received the 2016 American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) Community Service Award.  In 2017, she served on the ASLA Blue Ribbon Panel on Climate Change and Resiliency. Diane also serves on the Board of the Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF), serving as Vice President for Education. Diane received the 2017 Distinguished Alumni Award from the College of Environmental Design, University of California at Berkeley.  Diane is part of one of two cross disciplinary teams that won 2020 SOM Foundation Research Prize focused on examining social justice in urban contexts.

Diane was elected to the American Society of Landscape Architects Council of Fellows in 2019.  Her research and practice is guided by the intersection of environmental justice, identity and sustainability in cultural landscapes, including “Nomadic” responses to “Transit Deserts,” places of increasing transportation demand and limited access, as discuss in her book “Lost in the Transit Desert: Race, Transit Access, and Suburban Form” published by Routledge Press in 2017.  Diane, recently co-edited “Design for Democracy: Techniques for Collective Creativity”, published by Island Press in 2017. Diane is a Council of Landscape Architectural Registration Board (CLARB) certified landscape architect, licensed in Texas, Louisiana, Missouri and Maryland.