Advancing Federal Nutrition Policy to Improve America’s Health

On Wednesday, July 15, 2020, we announced a supportive coalition of advocacy organizations and businesses at an event hosted by the Bipartisan Policy Center. Access the archived video recording of the event here.

The white paper on Strengthening Federal Nutrition Research was published Monday, July 20. Updates can be found on the white paper webpage.


The Federal Nutrition Policy Advisory Group includes thought leaders from diverse backgrounds who are volunteering their knowledge and expertise to help consider and develop a strategy toward a new, robust, coordinated federal nutrition research effort. The group convenes regularly for discussions and to publish commentary on issues relevant to such an effort, bringing evidence, objectivity, and actionable policy recommendations.

As of November 2020, with support from The Rockefeller Foundation, the Federal Nutrition Policy Advisory Group will focus in 2021 on building national momentum and support for effective policies in three areas: (1) advancing nutrition science, (2) creating greater coordination of federal food and nutrition policy, and (3) leveraging Food is Medicine interventions in healthcare. These efforts build upon and expand the work and progress in 2020, which assessed and highlighted the importance of accelerating federal nutrition science and coordinated national food and nutrition policy.

Click for more information on Food is Medicine policy priorities


Ertharin Cousin, J.D.

Former US Ambassador to the UN Agencies for Food and Agriculture

Founder and CEO, Food Systems for the Future

Dan Glickman, J.D.

Former Secretary of Agriculture

Senior Fellow, Bipartisan Policy Center

Senator Tom Harkin (Ret.)

William Li, M.D.

CEO, Angiogenesis Foundation

Joseph Loscalzo, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor and Distinguished Chair in Medicine, Harvard Medical School

Chairman of the Department of Medicine and Physician-in-Chief, Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Yvonne Maddox, Ph.D.

Professor, College of Allied Health Sciences, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

President and CEO, TAThornton Foundation

Dariush Mozaffarian, DrPh, M.P.H., M.D.

Dean and Jean Mayer Professor of Nutrition, Tufts Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy

Anand Parekh, M.D., M.P.H.

Chief Medical Advisor, Bipartisan Policy Center

Sally Rockey, Ph.D.

Executive Director, Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research

Sylvia Rowe, M.A.T.

President, SR Strategy

Chair of the NASEM’s Food and Nutrition Board Food Forum

Patrick Stover, Ph.D.

Vice Chancellor and Dean for Agriculture and Life Sciences, Texas A&M AgriLife

Director, Texas A&M AgriLife Research

Angie Tagtow, M.S., R.D., L.D.

Founder and Chief Strategist, Äkta Strategies

Senior Fellow and Endowed Chair, Minnesota Institute for Sustainable Agriculture, University of Minnesota College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences

Cathie Woteki, M.S., Ph.D.

President, Charles Valentine Riley Memorial Foundation

Professor of Food Science and Human Nutrition, Iowa State University

Visiting Distinguished Institute Professor in the Biocomplexity Institute, University of Virginia

Joon Yun, M.D.

Yun Family Foundation

President and Managing Partner, Palo Alto Investors LP


David Kessler, J.D., M.D.

Co-chair, National Covid-19 Task Force

Former Commissioner, Food and Drug Administration

Michael Myers, M.A.

Managing Director for Policy, The Rockefeller Foundation