Our History

The Tufts Racing Team began in 2008 under the leadership of Matt Liberatore (E’09) and with support from School of Engineering Dean’s Office and the Peter and Denise Wittich Family Fund for Alternative Energy Research.

In 2009, the Tufts Racing team, comprised of more than a dozen students from Tufts School of Engineering, competed for the first time as a “hybrid-in-progress” (all electric) car in the Formula Hybrid International Student Competition at the New Hampshire Motor Speedway. The Tufts team placed second out of four entries in the hybrid-in-progress category.

In 2010, Tufts Hybrid Racing competed again, this time in the gas-electric category, under captain Tom Williamson (E’10). The team placed 12 out of 19 entries in the hybrid category.

After the disappointment of the previous year, the team came back ready to get on track at competition. In 2014-15, under captains Alyssa Hatch (E’15) and Ray Bjorkman (E’15), the team worked tirelessly to get the car ready and were rewarded by getting on track and were the only all-electric entry to do so. The team came in 1st place in the Electric Division at Formula Hybrid 2015.

In 2015-16, in an effort to defend the title and  push the level of engineering, the team under the leadership of Grace Olsen (E’16), Nick Famiglietti (E’16) and Jackson Bockhorst (E’17),  took on the challenge of a direct drive powertrain and moving the battery box inboard. However, at competition the motor was critically damaged and the team was unable to run at competition.

In 2016-17, the team looked to return to form with a new drivetrain and rear suspension design, captained by Jackson Bockhorst (E’17), Catherine Gao (E’18), and Jordan Stone (E’18). However, after realizing the motor controller did not communicate with our brand new motor three days into the competition, the car did not make it out to the track.

For the 2017-2018 season, the team took on the huge challenge of designing a brand-new chassis with an accompanying redesigned braking and suspension system. Lead by Catherine Gao (E’18),  Jordan Stone (E’18) and Martin Majkut (E’19), the mechanical improvements were successfully completed and the car passed mechanical inspection. Despite valiant efforts by the team, the previous year’s electrical systems were not fully integrated in the new chassis before the start of the competition and the car did not make it out to the track.

Coming so close to racing on track the year before, for the 2018-2019 season, the team set its sights on getting the car on track. The team redid the seat tub, beautified the steering wheel, addressed strength issues with suspension A-arms, and fixed coolant system leaks. Under the leadership of Martin Majkut (E’19), Paul Gelhaus (E’20), and Abey Klotz (E’20), the team worked diligently all year and the car finally made it out onto the track. We finished the competition placing in 5th place! Woo‽

In the 2019-2020 season, Izzy (E’21) and Thomas (E’21) became best friends. Friendship is magic, and with that magic, the car actually ran! But then Izzy got a cough and died. She passed the virus around through Zoom and everyone else died too. Also all our computers below up.