Homeschooling pod leader information

Our pod includes three rising second graders all attending the public same school.

Responsibilities with kids include:

  • Walking through Math and Reading curriculum delivered by the school (either in video or written form)
  • Helping them complete assigned work
  • Ensuring work comes home with each child
  • Supplement school-provided subjects with Gym, Art, Science
    • Science may or may not have predefined curriculum. Leader should be interested in coming up with topics that interest kids and developing activities to support lessons.
    • Art and Gym will almost definitely need to be created by the Leader. These can be simple or complicated based on your interests!
  • Parents can assist with getting materials as long as we have notice.

Learning pod will be in person in Medford. One of the pod families has offered a single room above their garage with a bathroom and separate entrance. In general, all parents are supportive of being outside as much as possible given weather etc.

Who we are looking for someone who is:

  • Good at group management (keep them engaged, on task, make learning fun)
  • A good problem solver, adaptable, has good judgment when the unexpected comes up
  • Patient
  • A good communicator, with children and parents
  • Comfortable with various technologies for at home learning (zoom, MS teams)
  • Excited by the possibilities of this role
  • Experienced with kids of this age
Continue reading

Dynamic teacher for outdoor learning pod in Cambridge

We are two families looking for creative solutions to our childcare and educational needs. Collectively we have 2 kindergartners and 2 second graders in Cambridge Public Schools who will need assistance with their online school assignments as well as enrichment and socialization, while we parents work. We consider this an incredible opportunity for an aspiring or experienced teacher to develop and implement their own curriculum, as we would highly prioritize any curiosity-driven, outdoor, social justice-minded in person programming over more the district provided screen time.

Looking to meet exceptional individuals to start a conversation. Hours are flexible and pay will be determined based on experience, but certainly fair and generous. 
Please contact shawdeeeshghi@gmail.com or 617 320 0196 if interested. 

Full time nanny in Cambridge

  • Pay $24-28 per hour
  • We are looking for a full-time nanny to start ASAP. Our daughter turns 2 in September and we are expecting a baby at the end of August. We also have a friendly non-shedding dog (25 lbs). Compensation is dependent on experience.
  • We are seeking 40 hours per week (guaranteed).
  • Responsibilities would include all aspects of childcare and providing developmentally appropriate activities, as well as household support while our toddler naps (such as simple meal prep, household organization and tidying).
  • Ideal candidates are warm, loving, creative, full of energy, fully vaccinated, and love spending time outdoors. Experience with infants and multiple children is ideal. Bilingual is a great bonus! And it is important that candidates are comfortable with dogs.
  • We are looking for someone that will drive (parking available), walk or bike to work as we are taking social distancing seriously. We hope that you are also practicing safe distancing measures at this time.
  • Please contact Alexandra Segel at ahsegel@gmail.com

Childcare in East Arlington

We live in East Arlington with two children (ages 8 and 5). We are looking for someone to provide around 16-22 hours per week of childcare/oversight of expected remote learning. We will need someone available primarily on Mondays and Wednesdays (exact schedule TBD). We are looking for someone with childcare experience, additional background in child education/teaching a plus!

We are a fun, loving, respectful family. We have formed wonderful relationships with past caregivers. We are looking for someone with good references who can help our house run smoothly and will care for our kids. Following appropriate infection control guidelines outside of work will also be important.

Start date? Flexible, but late August/early September ideal Pay? Anticipate $20+ per hour, commensurate with experience. We are willing to work with the right candidate (regarding specific hours/pay/responsibilities).

Contact: Jamie.kirsch@tufts.edu

Weekday tutor in Somerville (possibility of discounted rent)

Pay: $15-$20 /hr and/or significantly discounted rent for room in Somerville home (to be negotiated based on specifics of situation)

I am a single mother of a rising 5th grade boy who will be either home this coming school year doing remote learning or part-time home, part-time at school (he attends a very small private special education therapeutic school that is considering a hybrid model for in-person return this fall). I work full time as an attorney and am currently working 95% from home.

My son does not need childcare, per se, but he would benefit greatly from a tutor who could help him stay on task for his online school and assignments and otherwise be available as a mentor. He is a very smart, creative, and sensitive boy who plays piano, tennis and enjoys video games and graphic novels. 

Continue reading

Nanny in Medford

We are seeking a nanny to take care of our 3.5 years old daughter and 6 years old son in Medford (near Tufts) this fall/winter and potentially continuing into 2021. We are seeking 30-40 hours per week. Specific hours and days are somewhat flexible. Our daughter will be in half-day in-person preschool and our son will be in kindergarten (which we anticipate will be partly remote learning). Ideally the schedule would cover the times when either or both child is not in school in-person. We have some schedule flexibility and can accommodate your schedule, too, if needed. Anticipated after-tax pay is ~$20 per hour.

Responsibilities include playing, crafts, reading, preparing lunches and snacks and likely some supervision of remote kindergarten. An ideal candidate will have a driver’s license (not necessarily a car) to take the kids on outings (zoo, hikes, etc.) and perhaps do some school pickup/dropoff. Ability to travel to and from our home by walking/biking/driving (i.e. not public transportation) is preferred but not required.

We are a smoke-free, pet-free household and have been social distancing; we are seeking someone who has also been social distancing (avoiding crowds, wearing a mask; small outdoor meetups with friends are okay).

Please contact Cynthia at cynthia.kinnan@gmail.com.

Elementary school tutor

Seeking an elementary school tutor starting in September for a rising 3rd grader in the Arlington area. Assuming that public schools will be following some kind of hybrid/in-person model, we are specifically interested in one-on-one help engaging with and completing online learning assignments and homework. Student does great with in-person school, but struggles with online learning. Time of day and number of hours are flexible, based on what school looks like in the fall. Estimating 10-15 hours per week, but could change depending on hybrid model.
We are a careful, healthy family that follows COVID-19 best practices and we ask the same of our candidate. We will wear masks and can provide one for you. One working-from-home parent will be present. Backyard available in nice weather. 
Instructor should have demonstrated experience and/or educational background in teaching elementary-aged kids. Hourly rate TBD.  

Interested candidates please contact Lisa Brown at lisa_g_brown@hotmail.com.

Please provide references.

Nanny in Melrose

We are seeking an experienced nanny to take care of our 3.5yr old and 1.5yr old children in Melrose. The position is full-time with a start date in late August. Specific hours and days are somewhat flexible.

Anticipated pay is ~$20 per hour, but consummate with experience.

Responsibilities include playing, reading, age-appropriate education, and preparing/cleaning up lunches and snacks. Our preschooler is potty trained and our toddler is in cloth diapers. The ideal candidate will have a clean driver’s license and be comfortable taking regular trips out of the house to play at nearby parks, hike in the woods, dig holes on the beach, visit the zoo etc. We are hoping to find a caring and energetic nanny with a background/qualification in early childhood education to establish a daily routine that includes fun and educational activities.

We are a smoke-free household with an ageing yellow Labrador dog and practice responsible social distancing. For inquiries please contact:

Andrew and Joanna Kemp – hilburnj@gmail.com

LIVE-IN NANNY in BEACON HILL, BOSTON, MA

Description: Full-time live-in nanny needed to care for our 10-month old boy in Beacon Hill.

Room and board included. Pay is weekly, and negotiable.

Responsibilities: Feeding, playing, reading, diaper/wardrobe changing, naps, walks within neighborhood. Light housework includes: simple cooking, prepping and cleaning bottles, cleaning baby toys, and baby laundry.

Priorities: Providing an engaging, caring, and safe environment.

Qualifications: A caring, organized, and responsible adult. Recent college graduates are welcome and encouraged. Perfect for someone looking to make a living while figuring out their next step or pursuing a career in childcare/education.

*We observe best practices regarding COVID-19. – PPE (which we can provide), monitoring activities outside of the home, etc. We ask the same of our candidate.

About our family: We are a fun and caring professional household, serious about our son’s care, safety, and development. Both parents work full-time in downtown Boston. We hope to add a nanny that feels part of the family. Beacon Hill is primarily a residential neighborhood, with many families, and with nearby playground, grocery, and pharmacy. For inquiries please contact:

Chuck Brown at 617-645-3356 or chuckbrown222@gmail.com

Beth Brown at 617-501-4424 or babrown0910@gmail.com

Psychology Trainees Wanted!

Camp Baker is now accepting psychology trainees for a fun opportunity to gain direct service hours over the summer

Have your summer classes been cancelled? Are your summer internships no longer happening? Do you need something to do? Apply to be a counselor at Camp Baker! 

Camp Baker at Judge Baker Children’s Center currently has graduate-level and undergraduate-level summer training positions available. Camp Baker is a therapeutic summer program based off of the Summer Treatment Program (STP) and is specifically designed for 6-12 year old children with ADHD. The STP has positive effects on the serious behavioral, social, and academic difficulties exhibited by children diagnosed with ADHD. 
Camp Baker is currently accepting applications for three roles:
1) Graduate Counselor,
2) Undergraduate Counselor,
3) Teaching Assistant.

Please visit our website for a detailed description of roles and responsibilities for each position: https://campbaker.org/training-opportunities/. All aspects of the training program are supervised by a licensed clinical psychologist. Trainees typically gain over 200 hours of experience providing treatment directly to children. Opportunities for participating in behavioral parent training groups are also available. Trainees complete a week-long training prior to the start of treatment and receive ongoing supervision. Training begins Wednesday, July 1, 2019 with the July 4th holiday off. Camp Baker runs from Wednesday, July 8th and continues through Friday, August 14th, 2020.

The stipend for graduate-level positions is $2,500 and the stipend for undergraduate-level positions is $1,000.