Bates Andrews Research Day

Each year Tufts University School of Dental Medicine holds the Bates-Andrews Reseach Day to honor George A. Bates, an alumnus who taught Tufts medical and dental students. The student research societies sponsor “Bates Day” annually, and it features

  • Student table clinics showcasing research conducted during the preceding year
  • Commercial exhibitor displays
  • Student and faculty photography and arts & crafts exhibitions

Bates-Andrews Research Day gives students an opportunity to share their accomplishments in fields of special interest with the rest of the Tufts community. Since the 1930’s Bates Day has promoted student research and thereby enhanced the opportunities for professional growth of students, alumni and faculty.

Awards given:

Faculty members judge student presentations and several prizes are awarded as described below.

  • 1st place (1st, 2nd, or 3rd year dental students): ADA/Dentsply Student Clinician Program Award for Best Overall Predoctoral Table Clinic (winner will present at the annual ADA convention)
  • 2nd and 3rd place (1st, 2nd, or 3rd year dental students) students will present at the annual Greater New York or other regional meeting, and receive $100
  • 4th year dental students: Andrews Society Award for the Best Scientific Research Presentation by a Senior (winner receives $100)
  • Postgraduate students: Bates Society Award for Best Postgraduate Table Clinic (winner receives $100)
  • Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU) Research Award for Public Health Research (the award is for $1500 to be used to fund that student’s summer research project)
  • Bates Day OKU Award (OKU faculty vote to award a deserving student presenter $200)
  • Proctor & Gamble Travelling Fellowship Award ($1500 to help defray costs to the annual American Association of Dental Research meeting – student must already have his/her abstract accepted by the AADR)

All students who received Student Summer Research Fellowships from Tufts University School of Dental Medicine are required to present at Bates Day. Graduate students and students who did research at other institutions are encouraged to participate.

Winners of the 2018 Bates-Andrews Day
    • Best Postgraduate Poster Presentation (cash prize donated by Natick Dental Partners):
    • Dr. Pooyan Refahi (Periodontics) “Minimally Invasive Mucogingival Procedures: Assessing the Level of Evidence”

      Faculty Mentor: Dr. Irina Dragan

    • Best Scientific Research Presentation by a Senior (Andrews Society Award) (cash prize donated by Natick Dental Partners):
    • Timothy Reichheld “Evaluation of Monobond Plus with SpeedCEM Plus for Orthodontic Purposes”

      Faculty Mentors: Drs. Ronald Perry and Gerard Kugel

    • AADR/Dentsply Sirona Student Competition for Advancing Dental Research and its Application (travel to present research at 2019 AADR Annual Session):
    • Grace Kim “Storage Temperature Effect on Fluoride Varnishes: Bioavailable Fluoride and Viscosity”

      Faculty Mentor: Drs. Gerard Kugel and John Morgan

    • Second Place Award for Predoctoral Table Clinic (cash prize donated by Natick Dental Partners, and present research at Greater NY Dental Meeting):
    • Stanley Ojukwu “Treatment of Severe Odontogenic Infection: Antibiotic Management Preferences of Oral Surgeons”

      Faculty Mentor: Dr. Archana Viswanath

    • Third Place Award for Predoctoral Table Clinic (cash prize donated by Natick Dental Partners, and present research at Greater NY Dental Meeting):
    • Annie Rao “Assessing the Usage and  Confidence in Oral Cancer Screenings at Tufts University School of Dental Medicine”

      Faculty Mentor: Dr. Archana Viswanath

    • Research Committee Award for Basic Science Research:
    • Sara Mir “Delineating Epithelial-Stromal Interactions in Basal Cell Carcinoma Development”

      Faculty Mentor: Dr. Addy Alt-Holland

    • Massachusetts Dental Society and ASDA Public Health Award (cash prize donated by the Massachusetts Dental Society):
    • Kaitlyn O’Connell “A Survey of Caregivers Regarding Dental Care for Autistic Children”

      Faculty Mentor: Dr. David Leader

    • Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU) Hilde Tillman Award (cash prize donated by OKU):
    • Trish Dang and Sang Joon Lee “Human Papillomavirus Vaccination Coverage and Its Potential Impact on Oral Squamous Cell Carcinoma in the U.S. Hispanic Population: A Systematic Literature Review”

      Faculty Mentors: Aidee Nieto-Herman

    • Dr. Chad Anderson Family Award for Innovative Methodology and Research Design (cash prize donated by Dr. Chad Anderson):
    • Syed Hussain “Does Disinfecting Extracted Teeth with NAClO Affect Shear Bond Strength”

      Faculty Mentors: Drs. Steven Eisen and Gerard Kugel

    • Esthetic Dentistry Award (cash prize donated by Dr. Aikaterini Papathanasiou):
    • Jesse Feuerstein and Tyler Beninati “Evaluation of Dentin Permeability and Microleakage with Different Bonding Systems”

      Faculty Mentors: Drs. Gerard Kugel and Steven Eisen

    • Scientific Merit Award for First-Time Presenters (cash prize donated by Dr. Matthew Finkelman):
    • David Michaels “Material Flexural Strength Comparison using Marketed and Experimental Automix Tips”

      Faculty Mentors: Dr. Gerard Kugel

    • Bates Student Research Group “Peer-reviewed” Award:
    • Mythilee Kugathasan “Is There a Reduction in Facial Swelling when Intraoperative Corticosteroids are Used”

      Faculty Mentor: Dr. Archana Viswanath

    • ADEA Student Group Educational Research Award:
    • Benjamin Smith “Perspectives on the Use of Learning Catalytics in the Curriculum”

      Faculty Mentor: Drs. Irina Dragan, Nadeem Karimbux and Ms. Jennipher Murphy

    • Procter & Gamble AADR Traveling Fellowship Award:
    • Craig Holliday “Treating Hyposalivation: Efficacy and Adverse Effects on Pilocarpine vs. Cevimeline”

      Faculty Mentors: Dr. Arwa Farag

    • AADR Student Research Day Award:
    • Delaney Turner “Clinical Performance of CAD/CAM Generated All-Ceramic Crowns”

      Faculty Mentor: Dr. Maria Avrampou

    • Multicultural Award for the Advancement of Dental Research (travel award donated by Dr. Kistama Naidu):
  • Dianne Luu “Water Absorption and Solubility of Four Dental Composite Materials”

    Faculty Mentor: Drs. Yoon Kang and Gerard Kugel

Congratulations to all the students and faculty – a job well done!