Senior Advisors

Evelyn Farkas is former Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Russia, Ukraine, and Eurasia. Previously she served as Senior Advisor to the Supreme Allied Commander Europe, Commander, U.S. European Command, Special Advisor for the Secretary of Defense for the NATO Summit, was a Senior Fellow at the American Security Project, Executive Director of the bipartisan Commission on the Prevention of Weapons of Mass Destruction Proliferation and Terrorism, and as a Professional Staff Member of the Senate Armed Services Committee conducting policy and budget oversight. Her issue areas included foreign and defense policy worldwide regarding special operations, combating terrorism, foreign military assistance, peace and stability operations, counternarcotics efforts, homeland defense, and export controls. She was a professor of international relations at the U.S. Marine Corps Command and Staff College, Marine Corps University. She served in Bosnia as a Human Rights Officer for OSCE in 1996, and as an Election Supervisor in 1997. In 2009, she was an election observer in Afghanistan. Farkas obtained her MA and Ph.D. from The Fletcher School.
James Stavridis is former Dean of The Fletcher School. He is a retired four-star officer in the U.S. Navy and served as the NATO Supreme Allied Commander (2009-2013), responsible for Afghanistan, Libya, the Balkans, Syria, piracy, and cyber security. Stavridis was also Commander of U.S. Southern Command (2006-2009), overseeing all military operations in Latin America. He was the longest serving Combatant Commander in recent U.S. history. Stavridis has also published eight books on leadership, the oceans, maritime affairs, and Latin America, as well as hundreds of articles in leading journals. He is a frequent commentator in the media and an established expert on security. Currently he is a Bloomberg Opinion columnist, an operating executive consultant at the Carlyle Group, and chairs the board of counselors at McLarty Associates. Stavridis holds a B.S. from the U.S. Naval Academy and a MALD and Ph.D. from The Fletcher School.
James Warlick is Managing Director of Egorov, Puginsky, Afanasiev, and Partners office in Washington, D.C. responsible for U.S. and international clients, development of strategic client relationships, legislation, and public policy. Previously Warlick was a career diplomat in the U.S. Department of State for more than thirty years. He also served concurrently as Associate Professor of Law at Arizona State University in 2016. In his diplomatic career, Warlick was appointed as the U.S. co-chair of the OSCE Minsk Group in 2013 to work on a peaceful settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict. Warlick served as U.S. Ambassador to Bulgaria (2009-2012) and as Deputy Special Representative for Afghanistan and Pakistan in the office of the Secretary of State (2012-2013), where he had responsibility for negotiating a Bilateral Security Agreement with Afghanistan. Warlick holds a B.A. from Stanford University (1977), a Master of Letters in Politics from Wadham College, Oxford (1979), and a MALD (1980) from The Fletcher School.