People


Directors

Kelly Sims Gallagher, Center Co-Director
Director: Climate Policy Lab
Professor of Energy and Environmental Policy
Email: kelly.gallagher@tufts.edu
Website

Jenny AkerCenter Co-Director
Professor of Development Economics
Email: jenny.aker@tufts.edu

Amy Myers JaffeManaging Director of the Climate Policy Lab
Research Professor
Email: amy.jaffe@tufts.edu


Faculty


Steve Block
Professor of International Economics, The Fletcher School, Tufts University
EIB E240: Development Economics: Macroeconomic Perspectives
EIB E243: Agriculture and Rural Development in Developing Countries
Alvin Camba
Assistant Professor
Josef Korbel School of International Studies, University of Denver
Email: aacamba@gmail.com
Ujjayant Chakravorty
Professor of Economics, Tufts University
Email: ujjayant.chakravorty@tufts.edu
Charles Chester
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Email: charles.chester@tufts.edu
Website: earthweb.info
Steve Cicala
Associate Professor of Economics

Erin Coughlan de Perez
Associate Professor, Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy

Abay Ezra Yimere
Lecturer and Researcher, Addis Ababa University
Country Manager, Program for the Biosafety Systems (PBS)

Timothy Griffin
Associate Professor, Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy
Email: timothy.griffin@tufts.edu
Eric HinesEric Hines
Professor of Practice, Tufts University Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Email: eric.hines@tufts.edu


Eric HinesJustin Hollander
Professor of Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning
Email: justin.hollander@tufts.edu


Karen Jacobsen
Henry J. Leir Professor in Global Migration
Director, Refugees in Towns Project at the Feinstein International Center
Barbara Kates-Garnick
Professor of Practice and Senior Research Fellow
The Fletcher School, Tufts University
Sulmaan Khan
Associate Professor of International History and Chinese Foreign Relations, The Fletcher School, Tufts University
Email: sulmaan.khan@tufts.edu
Laura Kuhl
Assistant Professor of Public Policy and Urban Affairs and International Affairs
College of Social Sciences and Humanities, Northeastern University
Faculty Affiliate, Fletcher School
Email: l.kuhl@northeastern.edu
Rachel Kyte
Dean of The Fletcher School
Malam Assane Maigari
Research Lecturer, Agropedology, University of Diffa, Niger
Research interests: Increasing resilience of rural populations through improvements to plant production and environmental protection
Email: assanemaigari@gmail.com
Melissa McCracken
William R. Moomaw Assistant Professor of International Energy and Resource Policy
The Fletcher School, Tufts University
Email: Melissa.Mccracken@tufts.edu
Gilbert Metcalf TuftsGilbert E. Metcalf
Professor of Economics, Tufts University
Email: gilbert.metcalf@tufts.edu
Colin Orians
Professor of Biology, Tufts University
Email: colin.orians@tufts.edu
Mihaela Papa
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Sustainable Development and Global Governance
Co-Investigator, Rising Power Alliances project
The Fletcher School, Tufts University

Julie Schaffner
Visiting Associate Professor of Development Economics

Shinsuke Tanaka
Assistant Professor of Economics, The Fletcher School, Tufts University
Email: shinsuke.tanaka@tufts.edu
Joel Trachtman
Professor of International Law, The Fletcher School, Tufts University
Email: Joel.Trachtman@tufts.edu

Rockford 'Rocky' Weitz
Professor of Practice, Entrepreneur Coach,
Director, Fletcher Maritime Studies Program
The Fletcher School, Tufts University
Email: rockford.weitz@tufts.edu
Jacob Werksman
Visiting Professor of International Law, The Fletcher School, Tufts University

David Wirth
Visiting Professor of International Law, The Fletcher School, Tufts University
ILO L223: International Environmental Law
Fang Zhang
Assistant Professor
Tsinghua University School of Public Policy & Management

Email: zhangfang2021@tsinghua.edu.cn


Board

Andy Darrell (F88-MALD)
Chief of Strategy, Global Energy & Finance, Environmental Defense Fund

John Harper (F85-MALD)
Principal and Founder, Birch Tree Capital
Tom Haslett
Co-Founder, Partner, TILT
LinkedIn
John Holdren
Teresa and John Heinz Professor of Environmental Policy, Harvard Kennedy School

Ed Hoyt
(F62-MALD, F64-PhD)

Barbara Kates-Garnick (F73-MA, F78-MALD, F84-PhD)
Professor of Practice and Senior Research Fellow, Fletcher School

Chris Wendel (F93-MALD)
President, Volta Industries


Founder


William Moomaw
Professor Emeritus
Founder of CIERP, Center Director 1992-2013
Co-Director Global Development and Environment Institute at Tufts
Email: william.moomaw@tufts.edu

Postdoctoral Scholars

CIERP trains postdoctoral scholars and hosts visiting scholars from around the world. See past Postdoctoral Scholars here.

Rishikesh Bhandary
Postdoctoral Scholar
The Fletcher School, Tufts University
Email: Rishikesh.Bhandary@tufts.edu
Zongyuan Zoe Liu
Postdoctoral Scholar
The Fletcher School, Tufts University
Email: Zongyuan.Liu@tufts.edu
Easwaran Narassimhan
Postdoctoral Scholar
The Fletcher School, Tufts University
Email: Easwaran.Narassimhan@tufts.edu
Frank O'Donnell
Postdoctoral Scholar
The Fletcher School, Tufts University
Twitter: @frank11285
Email: Francis.O_donnell@tufts.edu


Research Fellows

CIERP trains doctoral students who serve as pre-doctoral Research Fellows in CIERP and the Climate Policy Lab. Our students have co-authored journal articles, reports and other publications with CIERP faculty and visiting scholars, and independently published papers of their own.

Joseph Aiello
Senior Fellow
The Fletcher School, Tufts University
Tarun Gopalakrishnan
Junior Fellow
The Fletcher School, Tufts University
Email: tarun.gopalakrishnan@tufts.edu
Hengrui (Henry) Liu
Predoctoral Research Fellow
The Fletcher School, Tufts University
Email: hengrui.liu@tufts.edu
Zdenka Myslikova
Predoctoral Research Fellow
The Fletcher School, Tufts University
Email: zdenka.myslikova@tufts.edu
Seth Owusu-Mante
Junior Fellow
The Fletcher School, Tufts University
Email: Seth.Owusu_Mante@tufts.edu
Qi Qi
Predoctoral Research Fellow
The Fletcher School, Tufts University
Email: qi.qi@tufts.edu
Bethany Tietjen
Junior Fellow
The Fletcher School, Tufts University
Email: bethany.tietjen@tufts.edu


Administrators


Mieke van der Wansem 
Associate Director, Educational Programs
Email: mieke.wansem@tufts.edu
Phone: (617) 627-2476

Jillian DeStone
Associate Director, Research Administration
Email: jillian.destone@tufts.edu
Phone: (617) 627-2778

Sara Rosales
Program Administrator
Email: sara.rosales@tufts.edu
Phone: (617) 627-3079


Research Assistants & Interns

CIERP and Climate Policy Lab Research Assistants and Interns
Clarice Coutinho, Research Assistant, Climate Policy Lab
Emily Dahl, Research Assistant, Climate Policy Lab
Emma Edwardson , Research Assistant, CIERP
Eliza Sheff, Research Assistant, CIERP/Climate Policy Lab Communications and Media
Nikolas Westfield, Research Assistant, Climate Policy Lab

Professor Mihaela Papa’s Research on Rising Power Alliances/Coalitions
Oleksandra Poliakova, Research Assistant
Rosemary Spracklin , Research Assistant